28 Sep

Daily 888 Poker High Roller Tournaments

Guide to daily high roller poker tournaments at 888Poker.

Complete guide to daily high roller poker tournaments at 888Poker.888Poker is one of the largest internet poker sites in the world. Open to Canada, parts of South America and much of Europe, it has a steadily active player base round the clock. Being the online home of a multitude of renowned professionals—including elite 888Poker Team Pros like Dominik Nitsche, Martin Jacobson, Chris Moorman, Sofia Lövgren, and Canada’s own Kara Scott—you’ll find an abundance of high roller tournaments among their daily schedule.

Daily High Roller Poker Tournaments at 888Poker

The following information is intended for players with a sizeable bankroll and enough skills to compete in these monstrous events. When I say sizeable, I’m not talking about hundreds of thousands of dollars. But you should have somewhere between $5k and $10k to work with. That’s based on standard bankroll etiquette, which calls for risking no more than 10% of your bankroll on a single buy-in.

There are three daily high roller tournaments at 888, accessible via buy-ins of $55 to $109, and paying guaranteed prize pools of $3,000 to $10,000. They include, from earliest to latest, The Typhoon, The Twister, and The Tornado.

The Typhoon – $55 Buy-in, $3,000 GTD

By GMT standards, The Typhoon is a morning high roller. Here in Canada, though, you’ll have to get up pretty early, as it starts at 4:00am ET; or stay up late to catch it on the west coast at 1:00am PT. As such, it’s not one of the most active events on the schedule, making it a bit easier for skilled players to land in the bubble. However, late registration is open for 3 hours, so you can catch some extra Z’s and sip a cup of coffee or two prior to the action.

Start Time 4:00am ET / 1:00am PT
Buy-In $55.00
Game Format NLHE
Players per Table 9
GTD Prize Pool $3,000
Starting Chips 5000
Blind Levels Every 12 minutes
Late Registration 180 Minutes
Re-Buys Yes
Add-Ons No

The Twister – $55 Buy-in, $4,000 GTD

Kicking off at 10:00am GMT, Canadians can hit up this 888 Poker high roller tournament at 6:00am ET / 3:00am PT. The buy-in is just as low as the Typhoon, costing $55, but there’s an extra grand in the $4k prize pool. Bring your A-game, because this one is usually packed with pros as the rest of the world is either sleeping, or making the morning business commute. As for late registrations, you’ll have an extra 2-1/2 hours to get to the tables.

Start Time 6:00am ET / 3:00am PT
Buy-In $55.00
Game Format NLHE
Players per Table 9
GTD Prize Pool $4,000
Starting Chips 5000
Blind Levels Every 12 minutes
Late Registration 150 Minutes
Re-Buys Yes
Add-Ons No

The Tornado – $109 Buy-in, $10,000 GTD

By far the largest daily high roller poker tournament at 888, the Tornado is their prime-time event—at least, by European standards. It gets underway at 7:00pm GMT, which translates to 3:00pm ET, or 12:00pm PT. Since most European players are off work by this time, you can expect a lot more fish to enter the waters as that $10,000 GTD prize pool looks mighty tasty! If you happen to be a day-jobber yourself, don’t worry. You’re given an extra 3 hours and 20 minutes to get home and register.

Start Time 3:00pm ET / 12:00pm PT
Buy-In $109.00
Game Format NLHE
Players per Table 9
GTD Prize Pool $10,000
Starting Chips 5000
Blind Levels Every 12 minutes
Late Registration 200 Minutes
Re-Buys Yes
Add-Ons No

Play Canadian Texas Hold'em, Legally, in 2021

Party Poker Canada, the most trusted Canadian gaming destination, and our editor’s pick for two years, now offers a wide variety of popular card games: from Texas Hold’em, to  Omaha, to 7 card stud, to Limit Hold’em and even casino games like blackjack. Play for fun, for free, or play for real, for real money that is ! Our editorial pick for 2020.

Canadian Poker Games

PartyPoker.com